Book Review

Across the Universe

Across the Universe by Beth Revis
Release: January 11, 2011
Publisher: Razorbill
Goodreads

♥♥♥♥♥

A love out of time. A spaceship built of secrets and murder.

Seventeen-year-old Amy joins her parents as frozen cargo aboard the vast spaceship Godspeed and expects to awaken on a new planet, three hundred years in the future. Never could she have known that her frozen slumber would come to an end fifty years too soon and that she would be thrust into the brave new world of a spaceship that lives by its own rules.

Amy quickly realizes that her awakening was no mere computer malfunction. Someone—one of the few thousand inhabitants of the spaceship —tried to kill her. And if Amy doesn’t do something soon, her parents will be next.

Now Amy must race to unlock Godspeed’s hidden secrets. But out of her list of murder suspects, there’s only one who matters: Elder, the future leader of the ship and the love she could never have seen coming.

In Across the Universe, we meet Elder, sixteen years old and a future leader learning everything he can about his home – Godspeed. Slowly, he’s learning that things are kept from him by Eldest, the current leader, and he finds the cargo on the ship containing people, frozen in drawers. In one of these drawers is seventeen year old Amy, traveling to a new world with her parents, her scientist mother and military father, both needed. When Amy wakes up, she and Elder discover that someone is thawing the frozen travelers in hopes of killing them. Elder and Amy also learn the secrets of the ship that Eldest hasn’t been sharing. They even share a mutual attraction for each other.

I enjoyed this book more than I thought I would. I have high hopes – not expectations – for every book I read and when one actually meets it, I’m pleasantly surprised.

I was really intrigued by the space trip aspect of this story. I’m not that familiar with the science fiction genre but throw a few young adults in the mix, make them slightly relatable, and I’m very interested in reading it.

There was something very cute about the writing, seeing everything through Elder or Amy’s eyes (sometimes frozen), and experiencing their hopes and fears. It was simple and interesting, never a bad thing in my opinion.

I really loved the outrageousness of the story. It got weird, it went places I didn’t expect, and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

It was a world I could easily see. I could easily envision the ship, Godspeed, and the main section of the ship where the farming happens. The story takes place in many places – the cargo hold, the hospital where many characters live, the section where Elder and Eldest reside. Beth Revis has wonderful world-building.

The author also creates a relatable emotion in the characters. Amy has heartbreaking moments that I won’t go into, and Elder holds his own secrets.

This was a book that surprised me and it is one of my favorite reads of the year.

Leave a Reply

