Book Review

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
Release: June 7th, 2011
Publisher: Quirk
Goodreads

♥♥♥

Ransom Riggs, MISS PEREGRINE'S HOME FOR PECULIAR CHILDRENA mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children involves Jacob, a sixteen year old who, after his grandfather’s mysterious death, decides to visit where his grandfather was raised to learn more about him. He convinces his father to take him to Wales to find Miss Peregrine in a tiny town where there is only one phone. When he finally find Miss Peregrine’s home, he discovers the Peculiar Children who look surprisingly similar to the pictures his grandfather had from his childhood.

Okay. This book was slow. Soooooooo slow. I almost gave up. I was excited for it because I hadn’t seen a premise like this before, using old photographs and crafting a story around them – that was so unique to me that I just had to read it. It took me a while but I finally grabbed it from my book pile because of the movie. I still haven’t seen the movie but right now I don’t think I want to.

I try to find the good in everything I read – and there are some good points to this – because if I focused on the negative, I would consider it a waste of my time and I don’t think that at all, I’m happy I read it. It’s a learning experience for me.

I didn’t like the pace of this. It seemed slow, like a turtle stuck in a molasses patch in the middle of December in Antarctica – seriously, that slow – but I did like the mystery. I like the discovery, the search for the story.

The characters were … unique. I mean, they are peculiar and all, but I’m still not sure how I feel about them. They were likable, yes, but they were a bit boring for me.

The writing was descriptive. I enjoyed the pictures, I found them the most interesting part of the story – illustrating the characters in a new way for me.

Maybe it was the hype that threw me off – but I was disappointed.

All in all, I wasn’t too impressed with this. I do have the second one in the series but I’m not sure when I’ll read it. I will read it, I know that, but not sure when.

Leave a Reply

