Book Review

Too Late

Too Late by Colleen Hoover
Release: 2016 / November 19, 2016
Publisher: Wattpad / Hoover Ink
Goodreads

♥♥♥♥♥

Colleen Hoover, TOO LATESloan will go through hell and back for her little brother. And she does, every single night.

Forced to remain in a relationship with the dangerous and corrupt Asa Jackson, Sloan will do whatever it takes to make sure her brother has what he needs.

Nothing will get in her way.

Nothing except Carter.Colleen Hoover, TOO LATE (WattPad Edition)

Sloan is the only good thing to ever happen to Asa. He knows this and he never plans on letting her go; even if she doesn’t approve of his lifestyle. But despite Sloan’s disapproval, Asa knows what it takes to get what he wants. He knows what he needs to do to remain on top.

Nothing will get in his way.

Nothing except Carter.

I can’t tell you how long I went without knowing Colleen Hoover – my book god – was just casually writing something on Wattpad. I can’t tell you how long it took me to actually read it. I definitely can’t tell you why I haven’t bought this yet but it’s something I’m meaning to do.

Okay, okay.

Sloan is dating Asa and trying to complete her degree. She’s living with Asa and trying to complete her degree. She’s dealing with Asa and trying to complete her degree. All so she can get a great paying job and never need to rely on Asa or see him again. Because Asa is paying for her brother’s medical care, something she can’t afford since her brother lost his funding from the state. Then Carter enters the picture and Sloan thinks he’s exactly like Asa, doing what Asa wants, with her main focus on her goal of caring for her brother. But Sloan and Carter can’t fight their attraction to each other, even when Asa is suspicious, even when Sloan learns exactly who Carter is – but her goal is always her brother.

Now, I don’t want to go more into because I could just type about this book all day.

So, Colleen Hoover has hooked me again. This is so far from your typical Colleen Hoover novel. It’s dark, it’s bizarre, but it hooks you so quickly, you need to spend an all nighter reading every last word.

Just like evert Hoover novel, you’re digging through everything in hope that the ending is okay, worrying with the characters, crying with the characters, screaming at the characters – or maybe that’s just me in the middle of work, but who’s keeping count, yeah?

As always, the writing is brilliant and easy like you yourself are conversing with the characters.

I wanted to cry with Sloan, I wanted to help Carter, there were times I wanted to hug Asa and times I wanted to punch him in the nose. I never wanted to sympathize with a character that evil but Colleen Hoover had me doing it. She had me calling my best friend, someone who loves Wattpad more than most people, someone I begged to read this story with me, telling her how much I just needed to cry while reading. She understood but still thought I was crazy.

I know this book isn’t everyone’s cup of tea. It’s dark, it’s a little depressing at times, it makes you want to punch people (I really hope that isn’t just a me thing) and I recommend it if you want some wild ride.

There are a few hard parts, a few things that are difficult to read, so tread carefully.

Leave a Reply

