Book Review

Throne of Glass

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas
Release: May 7, 2013
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA
Goodreads

♥♥♥♥

Sarah J. Maas, THRONE OF GLASSIn a land without magic, where the king rules with an iron hand, an assassin is summoned to the castle. She comes not to kill the king, but to win her freedom. If she defeats twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition, she is released from prison to serve as the king’s champion. Her name is Celaena Sardothien.Sarah J. Maas, THRONE OF GLASS (Original Cover)

The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her. But something evil dwells in the castle of glass–and it’s there to kill. When her competitors start dying one by one, Celaena’s fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival, and a desperate quest to root out the evil before it destroys her world.

In Throne of Glass, we meet Celaena Sardothien, an assassin being pulled from her work camp/prison to compete in a challenge to be the King’s Assassin where if she wins, it means freedom … eventually. Dorian Havilliard claims Celaena as his champion. After she’s brought to the castle, she experiences strange things, paranormal things, and tries to figure out if she has help in unexpected places or if something worse is out to get her. Attached to her side is Chaol Westfall, Dorian’s friend and warrior, helping Celaena train to win and making sure she stays until the end.

I’ve seen such a huge buzz for Throne of Glass and Sarah J. Maas in general on Bookstagram and have been curious. I’ve had the book since it’s release back in 2011 but never got around to reading it. I’m not that big into fantasy but I liked the synopsis and knew I should give it a chance.

It took me a while to read through it, I felt as if I were forcing myself. I know I shouldn’t force myself to read things I’m not immediately invested in but I just had to know why it was so big.

I liked the writing. Sarah J. Maas is very descriptive and paints vivid imagery in my mind. I did feel the the story dragged a bit in places, a little too long to make a point.

I felt Celaena was a little boring. I expected her to be tougher, more determined, and she just lagged in that aspect. She had her moments that made me happy to be reading but I felt that most of the book was work.

Since I started late in the game, the ending was a bit predictable. But the journey leading to the ending took a more winding path than I expected.

All in all, I don’t regret reading it. I have the sequel and I know I’ll read it.

Leave a Reply

