Book Review

Something Beautiful

Something Beautiful by Jamie McGuire
Release: August 18, 2015
Publisher: CreateSpace
Goodreads

♥♥♥♥♥

Jamie McGuire, SOMETHING BEAUTIFULAmerica Mason, a sassy undergrad at Eastern State University, is in love with a Maddox–Shepley Maddox. Unlike his cousins, Shepley is more lover than fighter, but a road trip to her parents’ home in Wichita, Kansas could mean the next step, or the end of everything.

As I read Jamie McGuire’s Beautiful Disaster and Walking Disaster, I was more focused on the side characters, America and Shepley, Abby’s best friend and Travis’ cousin. They were hilarious, they were adorable, they were in love. All I wanted was a book about them and then I found this! This randomly popped up on my Amazon suggestions list and I had to buy it.

My only issue: How short it is!

We follow America and Shepley as they road trip to see America’s parents. Shepley wants permission to ask for America’s hand in marriage even though America doesn’t agree with the tradition. As they travel, they’re hit with a tornado and separated as Shepley’s pulled from her grip into the twister.

This book brought me heartbreak, hope, and tears–not exactly what you want to endure during your lunch break at work. It gave me more America and Shepley magic, what I’ve been asking for since the first book.

Jamie McGuire sucks you in with her familiar characters, showing us sides of them we didn’t originally get to see. We see their love for each other, how much they care, and experience the heartbreak when they believe they’ve lost each other.

Something Beautiful satisfied a craving and now I need to finish the series.

Leave a Reply

