Book Review

Lullabies

Lullabies by Lang Leav
Release: September 16, 2014
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
Goodreads

♥♥♥♥♥

Lang Leav, LULLABIESA sequel to the hugely popular, best-selling Love & Misadventure, Lullabies continues to explore the intricacies of love and loss.

Set to a musical theme, love’s poetic journey in this new, original collection begins with a Duet and travels through Interlude and Finale with an Encore popular piece from the best-selling Love & Misadventure. Lang Leav’s evocative poetry speaks to the soul of anyone who is on this journey.

Leav has an unnerving ability to see inside the hearts and minds of her readers. Her talent for translating complex emotions with astonishing simplicity has won her a cult following of devoted fans from all over the world.

Lang Leav is a poet and internationally exhibiting artist.

I stumbled upon Lang Leav on Instagram. Someone posted a picture of one of the poems in The Universe of Us and I needed to read it. In fact, I left to Barnes and Noble immediately to purchase it. Of course, I couldn’t find it, instead I found Love & Misadventure and Lullabies.

Reading her poetry is like rediscovering myself. When I was younger, I read more poetry than novels. I was even published in a few student poetry compilation books because writing poetry seemed like a good release. But then the poetry became bad, I started playing the violin, and the Poetry Chapter of my life seemed to end. Nothing really spoke to me anymore. I couldn’t understand the likes of Browning or Dickinson, I outgrew Silverstein, and don’t get me started on Shakespeare.

As I aged, nothing really made sense anymore, nothing felt like it belonged with me.

But then Lang Leav showed up and I found everything easily explainable. My love, my loss, everything was understood, everything was beautiful again, and I needed more.

Leav has a way of describing loss and love in a simple and beautiful way. The descriptions flow and create a vivid picture. My only issue was the actual flow of the words. I was a little tripped up but won’t even think of letting that taint my love for it. All the poems were even complimented with beautiful artwork.

If you need some poetry in your life, I strongly recommend Lang Leav. Lullabies should definitely be on your TBR.

Leave a Reply

