Book Review

Before I Fall

Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver
Release: October 25, 2010
Publisher: HarperCollins
Goodreads

♥♥♥♥♥

For popular high school senior Samantha Kingston, February 12—”Cupid Day”—should be one big party, a day of valentines and roses and the privileges that come with being at the top of the social pyramid. And it is…until she dies in a terrible accident that night.

However, she still wakes up the next morning. In fact, Sam lives the last day of her life seven times, until she realizes that by making even the slightest changes, she may hold more power than she ever imagined.

Like most of my reading choices, I picked this up because the movie is coming out and I’m a curious person.

Sam Kingston is popular and she wouldn’t trade it for anything as she’s lived on the other side. She and her best friends, Lindsay, Ally, and Elody, start their Cupid Day the way they always do, with rose to the school freak, waiting to see how many roses they get, seeing how much people love them. When Kent McFuller takes an opportunity with an empty house to throw a party, Sam and her friends attend only to suffer a car accident that kills Sam – only for her to wake up the next morning. What follows are seven more days where she tries to stay alive. She learns what’s really important and what she’ll do to keep it.

I was hesitant to pick this up. I’ve had it on my bookpiles for a while but after reading Delirium, I was worried I wouldn’t like it. I wasn’t the biggest fan of Delirium but I truly loved Before I Fall. For me, I felt like I was back in high school, walking through the halls of MTHS and hating every moment of it.

I love how dark and twisted this story is. I didn’t think it would be but Lauren Oliver has this eerie way of telling a dark story in a beautiful, chilling way. Oliver also has a way of creating complex characters, ones you don’t know whether to love and root for or hate and enjoy their downfall.

Before I Fall had me questioning my own life choices. It had me riveted, on the edge of my seat, staying up late into the night because I just needed to know what happened with Sam and Lindsay, their friends, and everyone else.

Sam started as that girl I would have hated in high school. Though, as a quiet person who kept to herself, no one would have known. But she slowly grew to be someone I could see as a friend. I enjoy that in a character, someone who I could see as a friend.

This book pulled me from a reading slump and, even though it has been out since 2010, it’s definitely the best book I’ve read of 2017 so far.

Highly recommend.

Leave a Reply

