Book Review

The Sun is Also a Star

The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon
Release: November 1, 2016
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Goodreads

♥♥♥♥

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store – for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

This is a book that surprised me. It wasn’t one I was very interested in reading, I didn’t want to pick it up as quickly as I did because I had some skewed thoughts as to what I believed it to be about. What I originally thought it was about, I truly don’t remember now that I’ve read it, but I read it quickly after Everything, Everything because I needed more from Nicola Yoon and I was not disappointed. Luckily, my store still had The Sun is Also a Star and I picked it up during a long lunch break because I forgot my current read at home.

Natasha’s family is being deported later in the day – the story starts in the morning – and she’s trying so hard to prevent it. She doesn’t know Jamaica, America is her home and the last thing she wants is to be pushed out because of her father’s mistake. Daniel is going through his regular day despite that he has what his family considers the most important interview for Yale, what they consider the second best school after Harvard, the school his older brother has just been suspended from. Daniel finds himself at an awkward place of finally being the favorite son so he embarks on a journey to get his haircut to make his family happy even if that means he won’t be.

What I truly loved about this book was the focus of culture and how that affects their thoughts of their relationship. Natasha being from Jamaica and Daniel being Korean-American, I loved that I saw their hesitation to what was forming around them and how that changed their thoughts surrounding themselves. But the more they learned about each other, the more they realized they fit together.

Of course, that comes after Natasha’s immediate and constant hesitation to Daniel’s romanticism. He’s a dreamer, a poet, a person who believes in love at first sight while Natasha debunks his every try to convince her in their, what he believes, inevitable happy ever after. Natasha doesn’t dream, she plans. She knows what she’s going to do because she has goals to achieve when it comes to success and stability, thinking that dreaming is just a way to suffer after watching her father do the same thing.

This story is filled with cute moments, and a heartwarming feeling. Throughout the story, we are introduced to random characters and slowly discover their part in the story and how it affects Daniel and Natasha. Pretty soon, while reading, I just wanted to know about all the side characters and longed for their return throughout the tale.

What I also really enjoyed was the follow-ups. It was amazing the detail given into every character, their thoughts, their history, and their eventual end. It was like reading a contemporary history book about important moments.

If there was one thing I could change about this book it would be all the things I heard about it before I read it. I was confused and almost didn’t read it. Other than that, it’s a truly beautiful story and I’m happy I read it.

3 thoughts on “The Sun is Also a Star

Leave a Reply

