Book Review

Confess

Confess by Colleen Hoover
Release: March 10, 2015
Publisher: Atria Books
Goodreads

♥♥♥♥♥

Colleen Hoover, CONFESSAuburn Reed has her entire life mapped out. Her goals are in sight and there’s no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Owen Gentry.

For once, Auburn takes a risk and puts her heart in control, only to discover Owen is keeping major secrets from coming out. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything important to Auburn, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it.

The last thing Owen wants is to lose Auburn, but he can’t seem to convince her that truth is sometimes as subjective as art. All he would have to do to save their relationship is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin…

This is a book I chose because there is a television (technically web series) coming out. I wanted to get the read in before it started so I could watch it, much like my binge-watching Gilmore Girls before the revival, but let’s move on from that. There are no words to convey my love for Colleen Hoover. There are no words to convey my love for Confess, but let’s try, shall we?

Have you ever picked up a book, not thinking too much about it? Have you ever grabbed a book off your shelf, forgetting all the previous books you’ve read by the same author, forgetting the raw emotion this author’s books hold within their pages? No. Maybe it’s just me? I hope not.

I forgot that Colleen Hoover has the ability to take my heart in the palm of her hand, and wring it within an inch of it’s last beat only to spare me the final pain and release me.

Colleen Hoover, if you ever happen to read this, thank you.

I really wasn’t prepared for this story. I wasn’t ready to fall in love with Auburn and Owen, praying to the heavens above that everything works out for them. I was captivated by the intro, dragged through the mud, and came up smelling of roses. Also, this all happened during the course of a night – yes, this was my one-sit read. I don’t have too many of those.

Auburn is a twenty-one year old Portland-turned-Dallas resident working a job she hates, moving to a city she hates, all with a goal. She meets Owen by chance with a Help Wanted sign at his gallery/studio – Confess – where people write anonymous confessions only for him to paint based from them. The gallery is only opened once a month and that day is the day it’s opened. Owen sees Auburn and offers her the job but he knows her from her previous trip to Dallas six years previous, but she doesn’t know him. They have a mutual attraction and agree for a date only for him to stand her up. What she doesn’t know is that he’s being arrested and might have to either attend rehab or jail, his choice.

Like all Hoover novels, there are twists, there are turns, and every once in a while, you’re crashing into the damn wall because you missed the turn and you need to catch your ass up. I’m not usually surprised with stories, I’m a sucker for any type of mystery, so I like to piece things together ahead of time – never watch Law and Order: SVU with me – just so I can shout “AHA!” in triumph. Didn’t happen. I was filled with shock and awe that the author was so sneaky. Dang you, Colleen Hoover!

This book made me feel things, deep within me, a heartbreak I can’t easily explain. This book ripped me apart and put me back together. This book kept me up all night and had me fall asleep at work the next day. I was telling customers about this book, that is how much I was still thinking about it. Hey, sir, there is a book you should read. Yes, these are your tomatoes, but back to this book… I pissed off customers because of you, Colleen Hoover. But that means that I have spread your gospel and hopefully sent some unsuspecting people your way (not that you need my help).

Just like Slammed, and HopelessConfess is a story that stays with you. It keeps you awake, it invades your mind, and it doesn’t leave you. I’m not usually a rereader (don’t judge me) but this will be one I pick up again just to relive the experience.

Leave a Reply

