Book Review

November 9

November 9 by Colleen Hoover
Released: November 10, 2015
Publisher: Atria Books
Goodreads

♥♥♥♥

Colleen Hoover, NOVEMBER 9Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.

In November 9, we meet 18-year-old Fallon O’Neill, former-teen starlet. When she was 16, on November 9th, she was in a house fire that permanently scarred her down her right side starting from her cheek. She’s lost all her confidence but is trying to regain her life by moving to New York with hopes that maybe she has a chance on Broadway. The day of her move, Fallon meets Benton James Kessler, or Ben and they have an incredible connection. Of course it makes sense that they meet the day she’s moving across the country, but instead of having a typical friendship, they decide to meet every year on November 9th for the purpose of keeping their connection alive and with hopes that Ben can write their story.

I’ve raved about Colleen Hoover so much, I should just have it tattooed on my person – but that’s a little too hardcore when you think about it.

Now, despite my love for all things Colleen Hoover, November 9 is not one of my favorites. I just couldn’t get into it as quickly as the others and the premise of Once-A-Year-Only just put me off. I understand that one of the characters was moving across the country, but to literally block each other on every social media platform, to refuse giving phone numbers just to avoid communication of any kind, was a little weird to me. It makes sense in the story–don’t get me–just threw me off.

But I loved the writing–it is fluid, beautiful, and melodic.

There is one scene I absolutely loved and had to share with ten people because it is amazing and hilarious and made me love Ben so much more. It was a scene I haven’t seen anything similar to in any other of her novels and want to see more of.

I won’t say that I didn’t like this book because that is not the case. I’m still going to throw this book at my best friend and tell her to read it because it is a great read. It is filled with funny moments, emotional moments, cute moments – this book has it all!

I recommend.

Leave a Reply

