Book Review

A Court of Thorns and Roses

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
Release: May 5, 2015
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Goodreads

♥♥♥♥

Sarah J. Maas, A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSESWhen nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin-one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin-and his world-forever.

I did it! I jumped on this train and took a ride.

So I’ve seen many people excited for A Court of Wings and Ruin release – if you’re paying attention, you’ll notice that this is after the release for that book – and the hype for these books along with the Throne of Glass series. I’m usually not in to trend reads or fantasy but just had to give this a go to see what was going on.

It took me a while to get into this book – again, not my cup of tea usually but I do need to branch out of my typical reads from time to time. To be completely honest, I can’t really tell you what happens in the beginning.

Oh, wait, I’m forgetting something.

In A Court of Thorns and Roses, we meet nineteen year old Feyre, the youngest of her sisters and taking the full brunt of responsibilities to keep her family fed and alive. When one wrong arrow kills a faerie, she’s hunted down and brought to Prythian to pay the debt – a life for a life. There, she unwillingly takes residence in Tamlin’s home. Feyre tries to find loopholes to go home to her family but there’s something about Tamlin she can’t seem to shake, he’s nice to her, he wants to help her, he’s not like when Feyre first met him. But when secrets are revealed, like why he, or the rest of his court, can’t remove the masks from their faces, Feyre discovers how much Tamlin and his court need her.

The writing is good. A bit long and drawn out but is appropriate for this story and genre. If there isn’t a lot of detail, things can get lost and you can often find yourself going, “Uh, what?” The story is inventive and filled with detail. While reading, I didn’t realize how much of that detail was useful until the end.

I think, overall, I enjoyed the second half of this book more than the beginning. It moved faster and I didn’t feel so bored while reading it.

I plan on reading the second one because I’m invested and I’m excited.

Leave a Reply

