Book Review

Eliza and Her Monsters

Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia
Release: May 30, 2017
Publisher: HarperCollins
Goodreads

♥♥♥♥♥

Francesca Zappia, ELIZA AND HER MONSTERSEighteen-year-old Eliza Mirk is the anonymous creator of Monstrous Sea, a wildly popular webcomic, but when a new boy at school tempts her to live a life offline, everything she’s worked for begins to crumble.Francesca Zappia, ELIZA AND HER MONSTERS.

In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, smart, and friendless. Online, Eliza is LadyConstellation, the anonymous creator of a popular webcomic called Monstrous Sea. With millions of followers and fans throughout the world, Eliza’s persona is popular. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves her digital community. Then Wallace Warland transfers to her school, and Eliza begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile. But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built—her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity—begins to fall apart.

In Eliza and Her Monsters, we meet Eliza, a high school senior who likes to remain in the shadows. She isn’t really liked at her school, her family annoys her, but she authors one of the top webcomics and no one knows her identity – aside from respected mods/friends from her online world. Enter Wallace, a new senior she later discovers is a big fan of her webcomic, Monstrous Sea. When their relationship develops, she debates telling her secret even after he shares his biggest one but her parents, who she never tells to keep the secret, spill the secret.

I really found this book fantastic. It was amazing. I – just – ah!

This is also my first OwlCrate read. I’ve been subscribing to this service for over a year now but haven’t read any of the books yet for no other reason than have you seen this room? so many books! But now Korinna Ede can pick every book I read from now on.

Things I loved:

  • The story itself. Seeing Eliza struggle between her school life, her family life, and her work life and still maintain three separate things, even though she didn’t want it. It’s understandable when she just wants to draw her comic because high school can be difficult for some people, and some teenagers would rather not deal with their families. It was written wonderfully and believably.
  • The world was so realistic. Well, both worlds were so realistic and deeply detailed. Throughout the book, you get the real world and Eliza’s comic world, drawn and transcribed.

Things I didn’t like so much:

  • Eliza’s character got to be a bit annoying. I remember myself in high school and I was exactly like her, instantly annoyed by my mom, believing she just didn’t understand – I understand it’s just a phase for some people. I just didn’t like how much of me I saw. But that’s also a good thing because I could relate to it. I’m just conflicted.

I’m now going to find Francesca Zappia’s first novel, Made You Up, and read that. I’m excited for anything else she gives us.

I highly recommend this book. Mostly because I’m probably going to bug my friend to read it.

Leave a Reply

