Monthly Wrap Up

June 2017 Wrap Up

Ah, another month gone, another list of books read.

For the month of June, I’ve read 15 titles. Five novels, four novellas, five mangas, and one graphic novel. I know I’ve read so much because ten of them are pretty short and easy to breeze through but I’m counting everything as a successful read.

  1. Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia
    • This was my first actual OwlCrate read. I have been subscribing to the service for over a year now but never read a selection. I’m happy I picked this up. I wanted to wait to read it but I read the first chapter and couldn’t put it down.
  2. The Opportunist by Tarryn Fisher
    • As a member of the Cohorts Facebook page, I was curious about the friendship between authors Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher. So that made me pick up Tarryn Fisher’s first novel and I just had to marathon all three of them.
  3. Dirty Red by Tarryn Fisher
    • Not a huge fan of the main character but it was eye opening to have hope for someone I believe to be the villain. Spoiler alert: still a villain.
  4. Thief by Tarryn Fisher
    • So happy to have found this series because this had to be my favorite of the series.
  5. Devotion by Alexa Riley
    • I’m not sure how I bought this but there it was on my Kindle, just waiting for me to read it. It started an interest in other Alexa Riley stories.
  6. Untouched by Alexa Riley
    • Not the best of Riley’s works but hasn’t deterred me from reading more.
  7. New Boy by Tracy Chevalier
    • For review, I was excited to receive this retelling of Shakespeare’s Othello. This made me want to venture through more of the Hogarth Shakespeare list.
  8. Coach by Alexa Riley
    • So far this is my favorite Alexa Riley novella. It has plot, it has a little feels, I wasn’t disappointed.
  9. Mechanic by Alexa Riley
    • Also another Alexa Riley novella I wasn’t disappointed with. Just as ridiculous and unbelievable as the others but I’m not into them for the believability, sometimes I want some insta-love.
  10. Attack on Titan, Vol. 1 by Isayame Hajime
    • I started reading Attack on Titan because my boyfriend watches the anime and if I get annoyed when he starts asking me questions about shows I’m watching that he knows nothing about because he was gone for twenty minutes, he probably gets annoyed when I ask questions about his animes. Or he’s probably a better person than me (spoiler: he is!).
  11. Attack on Titan, Vol. 2 by Isayame Hajime
    • Clearly I enjoyed the first volume because I kept going. Also, when I wanted to buy the first volume, Barnes and Noble didn’t have it. But the did have the box set.
  12. Attack on Titan, Vol. 3 by Isayame Hajime
    • I should probably say some actual things I enjoyed, right? Well, I’m enjoying them!
  13. Attack on Titan, Vol. 4 by Isayame Hajime
    • But seriously, I enjoy reading manga (should that be capitalized, I’m not sure) and this story has action and intrigue and confusion but that’s why there are so many of them. My questions are slowly being answered and I know I’ll read them all.
  14. Bitch Planet, Vol. 1: Extraordinary Machine by Kelly Sue Deconnick and Valentine De Landro
    • I hear about this one a lot on All the Books! and I love graphic novels. It was a bit slow for me in the beginning but I’m excited to see what else it has going on down the line.
  15. Death Note: Black Edition, Vol. 1 by Oba Tsugumi
    • I didn’t know what I was getting into when I bought this but I was curious. I saw that they were making a movie and that only piqued my interest more (I’m not sure if I’ll actually watch it). I just really wanted to know what it was about and I really like it right now.

I don’t think I’ll be able to beat this number unless I want to start binge-reading children’s books. Eh, I could probably do it if all I wanted to read for a month was manga but I don’t have many manga on my shelf and I have things to pay so I can’t go book crazy for a while.

But maybe I’ll try that in the future. I could always slowly build a pile of it.

Anyway, hope all of you are reading some fun stuff.

Leave a Reply

