Book Review

The Girl in 6E

The Girl in 6E by A. R. Torre
Release: January 27, 2015
Publisher: Redhook
Goodreads

♥♥♥♥♥

A. R. Torre, THE GIRL IN 6E

I haven’t touched a human in three years. That seems like it would be a difficult task, but it’s

not. Not anymore, thanks to the internet.

I am, quite possibly, the most popular recluse ever. Not many shut-ins have a 200-member fan club, a bank account in the seven-figure range, and

hundreds of men lining up to pay for undivided attention.

They get satisfaction, I get a distraction. Their secret desires are nothing compared to why I hide… my lust for blood, my love of death.

Taking their money is easy. Keeping all these secrets… one is bound to escape.

What if you hid yourself away because all you could think of was killing? And what if one girl’s life depending on you venturing into society?

I didn’t know much about this book when I picked it up. When I first heard about it, I saw it pop up on my Goodreads – all it said was there was a girl who couldn’t leave but it didn’t tell me why. Even on the back of the book it states “My life is simple, as long as I follow the rules: 1. Don’t leave the apartment. 2. Never let anyone in. 3. Don’t kill anyone. So, naturally, I was intrigued. I selected it for my TBR and didn’t think about it again until I saw it on the shelf at Barnes and Noble along with the second and third one. So I bought them all. Because I hate money and love books.

So The Girl in 6E is 21-year-old Deanna Madden, hiding away in her unlocked apartment until a neighbor locks it at night so she doesn’t kill anyone. Yes, she wants to kill. She has a thirst for blood and I don’t mean to drink, y’all, she wants to slice and dice anyone and everyone. So she hides in her apartment during the day, playing the part of 19-year-old Jessica Reilly, innocent college student turned CamGirl to make some extra cash. Camming is how she makes her living. Deanna doesn’t need to leave the house. Oh, and I forgot the main thing – When Deanna was seventeen years old, her mother sent her away to spend the weekend with her grandparents before killing Deanna’s father and younger siblings. Deanna believes her need to kill might be hereditary. So throughout her days, all her supplies arrive through mail and that means a delivery man she has taught to just sign her signature because she doesn’t want to kill him but will if she sees him. Her need to kill comes in handy when one of her clients starts to creep her out and she knows she needs to protect someone, taking it into her own hands when she isn’t believed.

I wasn’t expecting some murder-loving main character, I wasn’t expecting Dexter with breasts, I honestly thought the main character, Deanna, was going to be agoraphobic when I first heard about this but that was definitely not the case.

I found this book really intriguing, I flew through it pretty quickly – surprising because I read parts of it at work and I do not recommend that, seriously NSFW here. But I really enjoy dark stories. It’s weird, I hate horror/slasher movies because I pass out at the sight of blood (fake or real, it doesn’t matter) but reading horror stories gives me a thrill! Even if I can’t turn off the light at night.

The story is told in many points of view. The main character, Deanna, tells her story in first person, taking the readers into her mind and her life, explaining everything meticulously – truly a blessing – so we can connect with her and understand her mind. Then there are the other characters, all told through third person as we see their lives and a few of their thoughts on Deanna/Jessica. What confused me about this choice was the switching between characters – it would start as one character, clearly labeled at the start of the chapter, then switch to Deanna, then maybe switch to a different character. It’s my own personal preference but I just love labels. I’m not the most organized person in the world (seriously, you should see my stacks of books) but I love things clearly labeled when reading.

I really enjoyed all the extra knowledge I gained. While reading, it was obvious how much research the author, A. R. Torre (Alessandra Torre), did to create the character. From her murderous tendencies to her camming, it was truly fantastic. I love learning things as I read, even if the information is completely random. A few chapters started with in depth definitions about a few fetishes followed by examples through her customers and their wants. I want to say, if I can correctly recall, that there were a few deep dives into a few mental disorders, but it wasn’t as featured as the fetishes. Also, I enjoyed Deanna’s concise explanation of how she makes her living, how the money comes from the website (spoiler: it isn’t much based on what she makes), and all the ins and outs of how she created the little world she lives in.

Also, I enjoyed hearing how other characters viewed her. Through the delivery man, Jeremy, we see a character viewing a mysterious woman and his struggle to see and meet her. He asks around, hoping people know her. He wonders if she’s hiding from someone trying to hurt her, he wonders if she’s someone worth saving, he wonders if she’d let him save her.

What I didn’t really like, or rather, found a bit annoying, was the constant reiteration of how she could hurt people, how she’s a danger, how she has this insatiable need for blood. We see throughout the story her phone-appointments with two different therapists who help her with two different things – one being a sex therapist, one being a therapist trying to help her through her murderous desires. We see more of one therapist than the other but it is interesting to see the different interactions Deanna has with people who know her as literally different people: Deanna the murderer, Jessica the cam girl, the Girl in 6E no one has seen, the drug dealer.

I really enjoyed this novel, which I discovered is a debut, and I don’t regret impulsively buying the rest of the books. I really hope the story grows larger than a trilogy because I can see myself eagerly waiting the rest.

Leave a Reply

