Book Review

Midnight Crossroad

Midnight Crossroad by Charlaine Harris
Release: May 6, 2014
Publisher: Ace
Goodreads

♥♥♥♥♥

Charlaine Harris, MIDNIGHT CROSSROAD

Welcome to Midnight, Texas, a town with many boarded-up windows and few full-time inhabitants, located at the crossing of Witch Light Road and Davy Road. It’s a pretty standard dried-up western town.

There’s a pawnshop (someone lives in the basement and is seen only at night). There’s a diner (people who are just passing through tend not to linger). And there’s new resident Manfred Bernardo, who thinks he’s found the perfect place to work in private (and who has secrets of his own).

Stop at the one traffic light in town, and everything looks normal. Stay awhile, and learn the truth…

This is a book I started reading while watching the first episode of the television series based on it because it’s a mystery and I’m impatient and was wondering who did it. Here’s to see if the show follows that storyline, but let’s begin.

Midnight, Texas is home to a small, but odd, community and they just got a new resident: psychic Manfred Bernardo. He meets the witch across the street, Fiji Cavanaugh, his landlord, Bobo Winthrop, and the cute waitress at the diner, Creek Lovell, along with everyone else in town. Soon after his arrival, a body is discovered during a town picnic of Bobo’s believed-runaway girlfriend, Aubrey Hamilton, and then begins a case to find her murderer while Manfred discovers more of the town, like the vampire who lives next door and his mysterious lover, the couple down the street who run the antique shop and nail salon, and the mysterious cat who knows more than he lets on.

This is my first Charlaine Harris read. I did watch True Blood, at least the first few seasons, and I will still read that series but in time.

I really enjoyed Midnight Crossroad. I hadn’t been able to find anything to really sink my teeth into and this is the one that did it, this is the story that hooked me out of all my barely-started options. I am a sucker for mysteries and it has a *spoiler alert* talking cat! *end spoiler alert*.

Although, it does have a bit of slow start. It takes it’s time to set the landscape, showing all the important places in the small town, all the important people, and the dynamic of a small town. As a person who lives near Seattle and attended school in Cheney, I don’t have the greatest understanding of the town landscape. I don’t know many small towns where everyone knows everyone, and the thought of town dinners literally scares me because I like to keep to myself, but it was nice to see a close community where the slightest disturbance means a phone call to ensure everyone’s safety.

It was really interesting to see this town through multiple perspectives. Manfred Bernardo was a new perspective, someone new to town who is trying to figure out how everyone fits into the dynamic and what is odd about them (odd in a good way). Fiji Cavanaugh has lived in the town with her aunt until her passing, turning her house into a shop to showcase and help with her magical abilities. She’s kind of that nosy neighbor (I raise my hand with understand of that because I want to know everything) who knows the most and has questions to figure out the rest. What Fiji doesn’t know she figures out. Then there’s Bobo Winthrop, thrown into all the trouble simply because of his family’s past, what he was almost made into, and his missing girlfriend. He moved to town to escape his past, hoping no one would find him, but when people come to hurt him, he can’t help but ask for help.

I loved the story because it was funny and weird, it was an interesting take on a town. I instantly purchased the second book on my kindle, ready to dive into that.

My only issue was with some of the dialogue. Only because some lines were both characters speaking to each other and that’s just a personal preference for me.

Leave a Reply

